Worth It: White T-Shirt

Well, somebody’s been watching Buzzfeed.

So, today, I had the opportunity to buy different white shirts from four brands that are largely recognized around the country for a DIY Project. But to differ from Buzzfeed, these shirts are priced very similarly, and we study the quality, fit and longevity to find out which shirt is the best at it’s price.

img_9367

To test these different brands, I’ve put them through the light test in which you hold up the shirt in front of a light, in order to check the quality. Another test is the stretch test, where you stretch a part of the shirt, and see if it bounces back to its original form fast. Pics will be shown down below.

I’ve washed each of these shirts once on normal, and put them in the heat dryer for maximum damage. Quite ironic, if I do say so myself.


Shirt 1: Hanes Tagless ComfortSoft

Price: ₱405.00
Size: Small

Right off the bat, I’m not gonna lie, it feels good when you put a new pack on. But, emphasis on new. Once you wash these, they’re basically on their way to the graveyard. The material is really thin, so they’ll start going out of shape after a few washes, and the white will eventually turn yellow. You can save that with bleach, but it also damages the cotton, making it thinner.

As for the fit, they vary in kinds, but these ones are specifically classic, so they fit boxy around the torso, and short on the sleeves. The best use for this shirt is to be an undershirt.

Score: 2 of 5

Shirt is too worn-out to post. LOL.

Shirt 2: H&M Divided Crew neck

Price: ₱349.00 (PROMO: Buy 2 shirts, pay ₱600.00 for both)
Size: Large

Initially, I fell in love with it. It’s just soft and light on your body. But man, one wash (for real), and they’re done. They’re disheveled due to the material (90% Cotton but it’s probably synthetic and 10% rayon), the color starts to fade into a dirty white color. But the good thing is, for the price, the quality is there. It’s still has structure compared to the Hanes one, and if you make sure that you fold them really nice and flat, they’ll look good once you bring them out. They’re flow-y on the torso area, which is the trend for the target market of this brand, and run a bit long so they layer quite well. This is an every-other-day type of shirt.

Score: 2.5 of 5

img_9368

Shirt 3: Gildan Premium Cotton 76000

Price: ₱179.00 (You can get this for even cheaper at Divisoria or Department Stores)
Size: 3XL

I have to say, even for the flack Gildan has been getting all over r/streetwear, it is actually a viable option if some of the brands aren’t locally accessible. I still have the Kuso Gaki Box Logo Shirt that I use whenever I find it in my closet, and it’s still holding up.

They’re cheap, but the quality holds up pretty good. Medium thick, but not heavyweight. Minor Bacon Neck should be expected, but the collar is still garter, compared to your H&Ms and Forever21s, I think it holds its ground if you take in to account quality and price. Now I see why brands like Anti Social Social Club uses these as blanks. (YOU STILL SUCK THO ASSC)

Score: 3.5/5

img_9371

Shirt 4: UNIQLO Packaged Dry T-Shirt

Price: ₱290.00
Size: XL

We have our winner ladies and gentlemen. Right off the bat, when I took it out of the packaging, the shirt clearly felt different among its competitors. It had a vertical weave, and the shirt is pretty thick for Tropical Standards. While it may not be 100% cotton, I think it works great for their motto, Lifewear, which is something they use to describe as a piece that would last you for life. The fit is boxy, with the sleeves reaching close to my elbow, but then they run Asian sizing, so expect that they will be smaller despite the size tag.

Pure cotton would typically get disheveled after a number of wears and wash, but shirts that have polyester last a little bit longer and may also make the shirt thicker. But for this price, and this quality? I’d take it.

Score: 4/5

img_9369


So that’s it for my edition of Worth It, I hope you enjoyed, and I’ll see you at the next post, bye!

 

Leave a comment